This is just a quick run down of the terms we'll use throughout this documentation. Everything is pretty straight forward and fairly obvious but there are a handful of pieces that may be confusing. So this document hopes to clear that up in advance.
- HYFM - Acronym for HelpYouFind.Me
- Friend Share (aka, share) - The sharing relationship between 2 accounts. Ie, User A shares data with User B, that's a single friend share (A sharing to B)
- Account - Registered user. See account types below.
- User Invite - A user is invited to either have data shared with them or be a sub account. However, if the user email address is not currently registered on the platform. Those users are emailed an invite.
Share Types (aka, data types)?
Share types (can also be referred to as data types) are just which type of data is being references. There are currently two different share types on HYFM.
- Data is your private data. Meaning your encrypted data which includes your service passwords, private instructions, recovery codes, etc.
- Update data is your update posts. This can be location update, trip details (including hotel and flight information), images, etc.
When sharing your data with another HYFM user you can choose if you want to allow them access to your private data, your update data, or both.
- Family Account - Main account. Gets 5 accounts total (including the Family Account itself, so it can have up to 4 sub-accounts)
- Sub Account - Paid for by main Family Account. Each sub account can have 7 friend shares and 0 sub accounts.
- Power Share - Share account. User is allowed 7 friend shares and 0 sub accounts.
- Basic - Basic paid account. Only allowed 1 friend share.
- Read Only - Read only (also referred to with the initials "RO") accounts are users who were given an invite for a user share. They can read their user shares only and can not create user shares, can not edit private data, etc.
Read Only (RO) Account
When a user is invited via a friend share, and the email account is not registered, the user is sent an invite. Upon account creation they are a Read Only (RO) account. They can not share data, can not edit private data, etc. They can only see data shared with them.