Security. Privacy. Trust.

Respect for you and your data is the core of our platform. See how you're able to securely and easily share private data with your trusted friends and family.

How it works

About end-to-end encryption and how it keeps your data safe.

Your data: encrypted

For the unfamiliar, what we're describing here as end-to-end encryption is a somewhat complex concept, but briefly, it means that only the two endpoints sharing data or a file—say, two computers on opposite sides of the internet—are able to decrypt it. Even if the data were being stored and served from a service provider (ie, HelpYouFind.Me), as far as the service provider is concerned, that data is just an indecipherable blob of random garbage: the data only becomes a text message, a video, a photo, or whatever it is, when it is paired with a key that's possessed only by you and by those with whom you choose to share it.

Your data: safe

This is the goal of end-to-end encryption: drawing a new and ineradicable line in the digital sand dividing your data and their data. It allows you to trust a service provider to store your data without granting them any ability to understand it. All encryption and decryption happens on your own computer. By the time your data arrives at the HelpYouFind.Me servers for storage it's already in it's encrypted form. This means that we can never access the data and can never be forced to reveal it to anyone else.

The service provided by HelpYouFind.Me is to provide an easy interface and method to protect your data and distribute it to those you've specifically given access to and according to the rules you've set for them.

Private data screenshot

Your encryption keys

HelpYouFind.Me takes a complex process and makes it easy — for you.

1. Create your encryption keys

Part of creating your account involves the creation of your encryption keys. These keys will be used to encrypt and decrypt your private data and the private data shared with you.

Your private key is also encrypted and protected by the password you choose. All of these encryption operations are done within your web browser on your computer. We, as in HelpYouFind.Me, will never have access to your decrypted private data, your encryption password, or any private data that's been shared with you. All private data is already encrypted when our servers receive it for safe keeping.

2. Enter your private data

You can now enter private and important data that will be shared with the most trusted people in your life so that they can use it in the event of an emergency.

You should enter as much data as would be useful in the event you're unable to access this data and/or be reached. Think of things like banking information, cell phone accounts, credit card credentials, any special instructions for accessing physical items, etc.

Again, all of this data is encrypted inside your web browser, on your computer, and HelpYouFind.Me can not see it. Ever.

Private data screenshot

3. Choose who to share with

It's important that you share this private data with only those you absolutely trust. You can set specific rules for accessing your private data for each individual you're choosing to share with.

Each person can only access your private data once the sharing rules, that you select, have been met. For instance, if you set a 5 day wait period for one of your shares, you will have up to 5 days to deny their request to access the private data should you choose to. If you're unable to respond to the data request within the 5 days then the data will automatically be released to your trusted individual.

4. Monitor requests

When one of the people you share your private data with submits a data access request, not to worry. They have to wait the entire period you set when sharing your private data with them. This gives you time to review their request and approve or deny it.

You will be notified immediately and repeatedly every day, and more frequently as the response deadline approaches, that you have pending data requests. If you do not respond to the data request within the wait period you set for this person, the request is auto approved and the person requesting your data will now be able to access it.

You can approve or deny requests at any time. Even once a request is approved you can go in and disable that data request. The end user will then no longer have access to your private data.

Create your account in a few seconds

All data is encrypted and accessible only by you and the people you choose to share it with.

How does the encryption process work?

This is a fairly complex topic but we will try to explain it as plainly as possible.

The encryption scheme is based on private keys and public keys, these are known as key-pairs. Each HYFM user will have both sets of keys created when they create their account. A password will be required to generate these keys.

Data is then encrypted using the public key of the recipient of this data. The recipient can then only decrypt it using their private key, and their private key can not be obtained without knowing their key password.

So let's say Mary want's to share private data with Joe. Mary will encrypt her private data using Joe's public key and send Joe the result. Joe will then take that encrypted data and decrypt it using his private key to get access to the private data that Mary had sent.

The power of HYFM is that you store your private data, totally encrypted with your keys (so we never have access to it), and when you want to share your data with someone else, you use your password to decrypt your private data, make a copy of it, encrypt it using the recipients public key, and send the encrypted data to them.

All of this is managed automatically within with HYFM infrastructure and only requires user interaction or input when you need to provide your encryption keys password.

It's important to remember that your encryption password is never submitted to our servers. All encryption happens on your local computer, in your web browser, and only the final encrypted result is submitted to HelpYouFind.Me. This is why we can never access your data.

Note: This was taken straight from our faq page, please see that page for more detail.